X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jack1064
    Forum Newbie
    • Jan 2008

Should I buy?

I recently found this BT3000 on craigslist for $150, it comes with a cheap ryobi router and the router table attachment. I am just getting into woodworking and one not sure if I need a table saw and two not sure if the BT3000 is the saw for me. Also I know this is hard to do, but could you guys tell me if this is a good deal, I attached a picture, the guy said the saw is about 7 years old, not sure if I wanna get it so I figured what better group to ask! Thanks
  • pecker
    Established Member
    • Jun 2003

Well, it looks just like mine, and the price is decent.

Based on the position of the sliding miter table fence, it looks like the pivoting pin on the bottom might be missing. You could buy that part for a couple dollars, though.

Try raising and lowering the blade, to make sure it doesn't bind. Try operating the rip fence to make sure it still locks down reasonably well at both ends. And of course, turn it on to make sure the motor still operates.

Comment

• LCHIEN
      Internet Fact Checker
      • Dec 2002
      • Katy, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 vintage 1999

there's lots of posts here on the relative merits of this saw, as you might expect, since it is a BT3000-oriented forum, most are favorable.
      Basically my view the saw is a light duty saw, not recommended for heavy duty work, but will give great service to someone who takes reasonable care of their stuff and is not "ham-handed". When used properly it is very accurate and smooth running, easy to adjust and easy to add to and customize. It has a number of things that differ from bigger, cast-iron saws, that were designed to make it very cost effective. these may be off-putting or not. Certainly its much better than the $100-200 benchtop saws you see in the stores including the other Ryobi models.