• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • cyberbum
    Forum Newbie
    • Aug 2006

Joint to use for table top

Hi guys,

Beginner here I was wondering what kind of joint I should use for a table.
    I don't want to have any visible supports, but I am wondering about its stability (wobbling left to right).

The table top 1 1/2" thick, 60" long, 16" deep. The legs are 16" deep, 27" high, 1 1/2" thick.

I am thinking of just dropping the table top onto the legs with biscuits/glue, but like I mentioned, I'm afraid the whole thing is going to wobble left/right.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks!
  • scorrpio
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2005
    • Wayne, NJ, USA.

I'd consider sliding dovetails. They should hold the top real well and prevent it from cupping. And should be a lot less prone to wobble. Not as hard as you might think. Cut dadoes in the tabletop, then rout their sides with a dovetail bit. Use same bit to rout the recesses along leg tops. If you want to hide the joinery, you can rip thin strips off tabletop sides, and once the legs are in, glue the strips back on.

Comment

• Ken Weaver
      Veteran Member
      • Feb 2004
      • Clemson, SC, USA
      • Rigid TS3650

If its a trestle style table, you could consider a cross member with mortise and tenons (like the pic below). If you'r put off or intimidated by the sliding dovetail (which I would be) it might be a good start.
      Attached Files
      Ken Weaver
      Clemson, SC

"A mistake is absolute proof that someone tried to do something!

Comment

• LarryG
        The Full Monte
        • May 2004
        • Off The Back
        • Powermatic PM2000, BT3100-1