X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Chadi
    Forum Newbie
    • Dec 2005

Miter angles and how to cut them

Hi everyone. How are things. I'm new to the whole woodworking thing and need some advice on making miter cuts. As I've been learning with the miter table/gauge on my BT, if I set the angle of the SMT to 33 degrees I get a piece of wood (I'm cutting a 2x4) with a 57 degree angle (angle between the long edge of the wood and the angled cut). However what I want is a 33 degree angle on my piece of wood. So I would theoretically need to set the SMT to 57 Degrees which doesn't exist. I can get the 33 degree angle by sticking my triangle over the SMT fence (I use the additional 90 degrees from the triangle) and than my piece of wood against the triangle. There has got to be a better more accurate way to do this. Any suggestions?

Thank you,

Chadi
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

Originally posted by Chadi
    Hi everyone. How are things. I'm new to the whole woodworking thing and need some advice on making miter cuts. As I've been learning with the miter table/gauge on my BT, if I set the angle of the SMT to 33 degrees I get a piece of wood (I'm cutting a 2x4) with a 57 degree angle (angle between the long edge of the wood and the angled cut). However what I want is a 33 degree angle on my piece of wood. So I would theoretically need to set the SMT to 57 Degrees which doesn't exist. I can get the 33 degree angle by sticking my triangle over the SMT fence (I use the additional 90 degrees from the triangle) and than my piece of wood against the triangle. There has got to be a better more accurate way to do this. Any suggestions?

Thank you,

Chadi
    well, you know its the difference between 33 degrees from the vertical and 33 degrees from the horizontal. When the SMT is square one is the diffference from 90 dgrees (e.g. 90-57=33). They're called complementary angles.