• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MarkSHancock
    Forum Newbie
    • Feb 2005
    • Connecticut, USA.

Making a precise bevel rip

I need to make some 8" x 16" box colums out of 3/4" MDF for my basement project. For this I need to be able to rip four pieces (two pairs) for each column with a trapezoidal cross-section that have opposing 45 deg bevels along each side and a max width of 8" for two and 16" for the other two.[8D]

This is my first time to do a bevel rip so I went about practicing the cut on my BT3100 (according to the manual) and have been unable to figure how to set the zero properly for the rip fence for a bevel rip. First, why do the instructions say to rip with the fence on the left for a bevel rip? This forces you to use side of the fence with less surface area which makes lining up an already beveled piece along the fance harder. Second, when I set the zero with the saw at 90 deg, set the fence to 4", rotate the blade to 45 deg, then make a rip, I don't end up with a 4" wide beveled board. I have tried it several ways and I can't find anything that is 4" wide.[V]

Is my problem with my technique, my saw, or my expectation?

Thank,
    Mark
  • stoli
    Forum Newbie
    • Dec 2002
    • Tucson, AZ.

The rip fence should go on the left of the blade for a right tilting blade. With this setup, the offcut is free to fall. Imagine the setup the other way around. The piece between the blade and the fence is trapped -- can't move down because of the table, can't move up because of the blade, can't move right because of the fence. Any slight motion of this piece will cause it to bind up on the blade, and you will get some serious kickback.