• Show
Clear All
  • envisionelec
    Handtools only
    • Jan 2015
    • Dayton, OH
    • BT3000

Fix it - or part it out

I have a well-used BT3000 that seems to be a Frankenstein. It is missing the front and rear rail clamps, miter fence stop tab, rip fence handle and the rip fence itself doesn't function correctly. Additionally, half of the cast housing below the blade is missing so sawdust falls straight down into a plastic tub - convenient if that's your thing. It works for me but I struggle with the mechanics of the saw.

The sliding parts don't slide well and I don't know if they're missing any plastic. I have downloaded the manual, but don't want to spend a bunch of time finding replacement parts if it's not worth saving.

I'm a hobbyist woodworker - and rarely at that. I want to build some storage cabinets for my garage but feel as though I'll be 75% to a new saw in repair parts.

If it were you - would you purchase a new saw or would you buy all the replacement parts? If a replacement - what would you recommend? I'm only slightly cost conscious, so don't recommend the cheapest unless it's really a good value.
  • Black wallnut
    cycling to health
    • Jan 2003
    • Ellensburg, Wa, USA.
    • BT3k 1999

Part out. It sounds like too much is wrong with what you have. Perhaps a standard contractor style saw would fit your needs better.
    Donate to my Tour de Cure

marK in WA and Ryobi Fanatic Association State President ©

Head servant of the forum

©

Comment

• JoeyGee
      Veteran Member
      • Nov 2005
      • Sylvania, OH, USA.
      • BT3100-1

Definitely part out. You can sell the working parts for a fair price.

Myself, I seriously considering parting out my 3100 and going with the Ridgid 4512.
      Joe

Comment

• poolhound
        Veteran Member
        • Mar 2006
        • Phoenix, AZ
        • BT3100