• Show
Clear All
  • rvette79
    Handtools only
    • May 2012
    • Missouri
    • BT3100-1

BT3100 Belt replacement

I have been using the BT3100 for several years and have not had a belt break. First time for anything. I have reviewed several methods of replacing the belts and will attempt this "easy" task. The question I have is concerning the creation of a zero clearance plate. The belts broke when I was following the instruction manual and using the original blank plate. Am I missing something or was it just time for the belt to break? Any suggestions!! Thanks
  • JimD
    Veteran Member
    • Feb 2003
    • Lexington, SC.

Mine broke because an offcut fell into the belts. I was making a raised panel type of cut on some drawer fronts. I don't know why else they break. I broke both of them early, replaced them and ordered spares and now have gone several years with no breakage.

The main thing I needed for the replacement, other than the parts, was patience.

Jim

Comment

• LCHIEN
      Internet Fact Checker
      • Dec 2002
      • Katy, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 vintage 1999

Many people break the belts when trying to cut their zero clearance plates. THis happens when the plate contacts the blade before the saw is started and keeps the blade from starting spinning - instead the belts break.

So when cutting zero clearance plates, its important to make sure that the blade spins freely before stating the saw - of course that's a bit hard to so when the blade is all covered up. The problem is that the ZCTP is thicker in the middle - sometimes even with the blade lowered to the max it can contact the ZCTP - some people route a groove in the middle of the ZCTP to allow the blade to spin.