X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • COTCJIM
    Forum Newbie
    • Nov 2007

BT3100 Miter Fence moves

Being a newbie, I don't know if this has been addressed before. I have trouble keeping the miter fence from moving no matter how hard I tighten it. The long fence is nice, but it makes it harder to keep it aligned. Any suggestions?

Thanks, Jim
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

try these suggestions first:
    From the BT3 FAQ:

What's the little black button on the bottom of the Miter fence for/Why does my Miter fence not stay locked in position?
    You must have the little black pivot post on the bottom of the miter fence properly engaged in either hole A or B (on the left or right edge of the SMT, respectively). If you don’t do this then your miter fence will wander around and not cut right angles. This will also make the angle scales work properly.
    You must use one or the other pivot points, you must put the little black pivot on the bottom of the miter fence into either A or B. I recommend the using the pivot hole on the right (I guess that's B). Do NOT engage the button into the long slot in the middle of the SMT.
    The beauty of the SMT Fence is that it is locked into position at two points - the pivot and the center under the knob. This makes it a solid reference for cross cuts.
    Incidentally there’s a little pop-up tab on the left side of the SMT called the Zero Stop. When flipped up it will stop your miter fence at a preset zero angle setting. It is possible to adjust this using the concentric screw in the center of the stop. Be careful, the zero stop is made of a brittle material. Slamming the miter fence into it has broken more than one zero stop.
    [return to Top]
    What's the orange thingy on the Miter fence for/Why are my Miter cuts off by two or three degrees?
    Don’t use the back edge of the miter fence to line up with the angle markings on the SMT.