X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pim42

Throat plate required?

Hello,

I'm new to BT3central and woodworking in general. I recently got a 21829 table saw based on the advise from this forum and I'm really enjoying using it.

I bought the Delta 35-530 stacked dado set recently listed in the bargain forum. I'm actually really impressed by the set. The cuts are very clean and precise. I don't have a dado throat plate or a zero clearance throat plate to use with the dado set though. I ran a few test cuts using the dado set without a throat plate. Everything went fine. My questions are: Do I really need a throat plate? What does it buy me? Is it safe to use the saw without a throat plate? So far I'm very happy with the cuts I got without using a throat plate but I want to understand the side effects of using the saw without a the plate.
  • gwyneth
    Veteran Member
    • Nov 2006
    • Bayfield Co., WI

Originally posted by pim42
    My questions are: Do I really need a throat plate? What does it buy me? Is it safe to use the saw without a throat plate?
    People who know more than I do are probably about to give you a better explanation, but here are the answers:

Yes!!!!
    Support for the wood up to the blade. Slightly less important for dado blades as the wood is theoretically staying intact, but if something went wrong, it would be very ugly. It buys you safety, precision, and a better quality cut.
    No!!!!!

Comment

• Garasaki
      • Sep 2006

Well IMO it depends entirely on the cut you are preforming.

I think if you are performing a "non thru" cut, where the blade is buried in the wood the whole time, you would be ok. Like if you were putting a big sheet of plywood over the blade, say cutting a dado in a cabinet carcass, you could get away without the throat plate (if you really need to).

Or a situation where the wood is supported by somethign else, like if you build a sled you wouldn't need a throat plate (done this before myself).