• Show
Clear All
  • leehljp
    Just me
    • Dec 2002
    • Tunica, MS
    • BT3000/3100

Anyone use "progressive lens" glasses?

Got'em, like them in general but not for woodworking!

I have been using trifocals since the fall of 1992. Before that, Bifocals back to the early 80's. In early 1992, I tried progressive lens, but couldn't handle them while playing sports. I move my eyes far more than I move my head, and with progressive lens there is a huge blind spot to the sides.

LOML loves then and has used them for years.

I got mine earlier this week. I loved them driving home (40 miles). Straight ahead, they are/were fine. But the next day, I got nauseated with the distortions for any sight not straight ahead. I told myself to push through. They make computer and reading more difficult if the head is not aimed correctly. Progressives require head movement more than eye movement. But I pushed on and have worn them 4 full days and adapted OK. Today, I had some time to work on the bunk beds I am building.

Woodworking and progressive lens:
    Progressives require different perspectives in woodworking - for me. I did a wide dado down the center of 8 - 37" long 2x4 boards a couple of weeks ago. Today was sanding day, in preparation for sealing. Suddenly, the dado on the first board seemed to be visually off center about 1/32 inch. I started to get my rule and measure, and then thought to turn the board around. I did, suddenly the larger size shifted. When laid out before me on a table from right to left, the upper side seemed wider than the close to me side. By turning the board around, the formerly wide looking side was now narrower looking.

With quite a few other 37 in boards that will be used for the head board and foot board, they seemed curved ever so slightly - due to the distortion of the progressive lens.

Anyone else have this problem. or notice distortions due to glasses of special contacts?
    Hank Lee