X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RAFlorida
    Veteran Member
    • Apr 2008
    • Green Swamp in Central Florida. Gator property!
    • Ryobi BT3000

Moisture Meter and Infrared Thermometer,

that Lowes sold back in June this year. I picked up one of each then and found that the moisture meter to be fairly decent for the price. The infrared thermometer was a good buy too. It shows to be within a tenth or so accurate with a standard thermometer. For 10 bucks not bad at all. BUT....
    The other day I was outside doing some work and picked up my hammer; ouch, it's hot. Picked up my I.Thermometer and checked the temp of that hammer, and it showed 155! So just playing around I pointed the meter up to the open sky (straight up) and was surprised to see it read 53 degree. So make a long story short; I started checking the sky at different times of the day and night. The other evening after a light rain we had, the open sky showed 33 degrees. I am no scientist or math professor, but anybody have any ideas/opinions as to the accuracy of this meter in reading the sky temps?
    Other than that, BOTH of the meters do very well with their intended duties; the prices were unbeatable.
    Here's the thread about those meters:

http://www.bt3central.com/showthread...moisture+meter

12th post has the thermometer.
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

you have to remember that the thermometer works by reading the infrared emmissivity of the object that you are pointing to. Also that the angle of inclusion is proportional to the distance (so if you are pointing a mile up then the area its averaging may be 1/2 mile wide).