• Show
Clear All
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

Colleges hitting up the parents

Both of my kids went to college and graduated in 2004 and 2008. I have since been hit up by callers asking that I, as an alumni parent, make donations to the university XYZ.
    I explain to them that this XYZ university is my son or daughter's college and I paid them plenty in tuition already. Now I give my money to MY alma mater and if XYZ want more money they need to ask my kids.

Is this something that all colleges do now?
    I asked my dad, if after I graduated (this was back in 1974), whether my college ever asked him for money (after I graduated!) and he said no.

Anybody having the same experience?
    Last edited by LCHIEN; 09-21-2009, 09:00 PM.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions
  • cgallery
    Veteran Member
    • Sep 2004
    • Milwaukee, WI
    • BT3K

Originally posted by LCHIEN
    Anybody having the same experience?
    I only have my first (of two) in college now. So I can't speak from experience.

But I'm not surprised. First, they have nothing to lose in asking. Second, some parents may not have attended college, and may be inclined to identify somewhat strongly with the college their kids attended and donate (although I think it is a long shot). Third, donations and endowments are down, so I imagine they're leaving no rock unturned.

Comment

• herb fellows
      Veteran Member
      • Apr 2007
      • New York City
      • bt3100

Unfortunately, sign of the times as I'm sure you know. Most if not all schools have lost huge amounts from donors and benefactors, and they will try to make up for it any way they can.