• Show
Clear All
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

My Biggest, Baddest Rant - triple digit mileage

There's a news article today proclaiming that the new Chevy Volt will get 230 miles per gallon, but YMMV. http://ct.cnet-ssa.cnet.com/clicks?t...d=CNET-SSA&s=5

That just a pile of Crap. I'm so tired of all these companies and people and writers all claiming outrageous miles per gallon for plug-in hybrid electric cars.

I'm an engineer and my specialty is probably measuring things. gasoline mileage figures can only apply where gasoline is the sole energy source put into the car.

In a hybrid car like the Prius, where only the gasoline engine is used to charge the batteries, then a mileage claim of 50+ miles per gallon is correct. That gallon may actually propel the car 50 miles.

In converted Priuses where they have placed a battery charger and connected it to the power socket in their garage, the battery is charged by the electrical power grid and not solely by the battery. These privately converted Priuses are known as plug-in hybrids and their owners are touting 150 miles per gallon.

While its true they may only put in a gallon of gas for every 150 miles they travel, gas is not the only energy source, even though they may not pay for the additional power at the point of adding to the vehicle, they pay for it at the end of the month.

Similarly the Chevy Volt is a plug-in hybrid and you will recharge this car at home to supplement the gasoline energy. The gasoline engine will only kick in when the battery is nearly exhausted, if you don't drive much beyonf the range of a full battery you will use little gasoline. BUt then a golf cart uses no gasoline.