• Aug 2003
    • Maryland
    • Grizzly 1023SLX

BBQ-masters, show me the way

I made the plunge (OK, only knee deep) and bought a vertical water smoker
    this weekend from Lowes--a Brinkmann. Please don't lecture me on, oh, you
    should have gone with a Weber or something else. I know, I know. After all,
    I'm just getting started.

I know there's probably a considerable learning curve to making it work and I
    need help. I used it for the first time yesterday. The taste and appearance-
    smoke ring and all-was excellent, but it just didn't come out tender.

I used about 5lbs of charcoal briquets that I got ashy in a chimney starter.
    Those went in the coal pan at the bottom. I soaked 2 hickory chunks earlier
    and those went on the coals, too. Next the water pan filled with hot water,
    and then ribs on the upper and lower racks. Lid on, then walk away.

There's a temp gauge on the front that reads something like "Warm, Ideal, Hot".
    In not too long, it was on the border of Ideal and Hot. I opened the lid a
    little and got the needle back to middle-Ideal. I was doing 5lbs of ribs and
    let it go for 3 hours. By the end of it, the needle was just in the Ideal zone,
    close to Warm.

So I think that first 1/2 hour at Hot was probably not good, and not going for
    4-6 hours was probably another reason it didn't turn out tender.

First, I want to get a temp gauge with actual numbers on it. Any
    suggestions on how to mount it? There are no holes in the lid other than
    where the handle is attached and where the current gauge is.

Secondly, did I start with too many coals? The manual actually said start
    with 15lbs (the whole bag). That seemed like a crazy amount. One
    suggestion I read is to put unlit coals in the pan and add a small amount of
    hot coals to that pile. Over time more coals will light as other go out. Sounds
    reasonable. Or is it best to start with just enough and add more hot coals as
    needed?