X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
    • Mar 2004
    • Northern NJ, USA.
    • BT3100

upconverting dvd players?

Anyone have one and done a comparo against a std dvd?

If so, are the benefits noticeable?

I'm running a 50" 720p plasma with a recent sony carousel dvd player, but not upconverting.

Don't wanna go all the way to bluray, just doesn't seem worth it except to make more dough for the studios as I rebuy everything. (And by the way, how does a move made before hi-def suddenly become hi-def blu-ray capable? I even saw "Its a Wonderful Life" on bluray! Go figure)
    A Man is incomplete until he gets married ... then he's FINISHED!!!
  • dewi1219
    Established Member
    • Dec 2005
    • Birmingham, AL

Although many people haven't heard of them, Oppo upconverting DVD players are considered some of the best. Do a Google search to find reviews, etc. But personally I would go (and am going) to Bluray.

I am not an expert, but it is possible to convert old analog film (and older digital recordings) to Bluray because their native resolution is equal to or greater than 1080p. A very good Bluray player such as the Panasonic DMP-BD35K can be had now for $250 or so, and it will play, even upscale your existing DVDs. No need to replace all your current DVDs. So you can have the upscaling feature now for your existing movies and start with Bluray for your purchases from now on. Just my $.02

Comment

• stormdog74
      Established Member
      • Mar 2007
      • Sacramento, CA
      • Ridgid TS3650

Oppo is a highly respected brand.

Our "old" dvd player died and we bought a new upconverting player and we have noticed a significant improvement. That said, our old player was pretty old, so it may not necessarily be the upconverting we are noticing.

I do find the term upconverting a bit misleading as you are definitely not getting hi def; it does seem better than standard DVD though.