X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • karrlot
    Forum Newbie
    • Oct 2003

what kind of pen turning mandrel shoudl I get

I've been turning for a few years and want to try my hand at turning pens. I'm looking at getting a starter set from PSI. It looks like I could either use a mt#2 or an 8TPI mandrel. Any thoughts on which is better? Is the Penn State Ind. kit decent, or should I look elsewhere? Any general advice on equipment would be appriciated.
    Thanks,

Joel
  • Doug Jones
    Established Member
    • Oct 2004
    • Indiana
    • Delta 36-444

I recommend (POC) Pens of Color.
    http://pocwoodworking.com/index.asp?...ROD&ProdID=290

Comment

• boblon
      • Aug 2003
      • Florida, USA.

Joel,
      I am no expert but hopefully others will chime in.

If you've been turning a few years I'm wondering if you have any collet chucks. If so, I believe the perferred method is to just buy the mandrel rod and use a collet chuck. I seem to recall reading somewhere that you will get less runnout like this.

And the rods are a lot cheaper than the whole mandrel with taper should you need to replace it or get more than one.

Hopefull Ken or Whaler (or one of the other more experienced turners) will pop in and give you some more info.

BTW, if you haven't visited kwgeorges site there is a lot of good info there.

http://www.theturnersshop.com/

Of course a mandrel on an appropriate taper will work just fine.

Just my .02

BobL.
      "Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from poor judgement."

Comment

• Jim Boyd
        Veteran Member
        • Dec 2002
        • Montgomery, Texas, USA.
        • Delta Unisaw

What Bob said But I don't have a collet set and use a #2 taper and mandrel[V]
        Jim in Texas and Sicko Ryobi Cult Member ©

Comment

• Tom Miller
          Veteran Member
          • Mar 2003
          • Twin Cities, MN
          • BT3000 - Cuttin' it old school