Impact driver vs drill driver difference - WOW!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • leehljp
    Just me
    • Dec 2002
    • Tunica, MS
    • BT3000/3100

Impact driver vs drill driver difference - WOW!

I have been using an Impact Driver for driving screws for so long (3 to 4 years) that I forgot just how much BETTER an impact driver is at driving screws versus a drill driver. I have a right angle drill (cheap but with VS and forward/reverse switch) and needed something for tight spaces!

I am attaching some board backers (to the base and top base of a book case project) for attaching shaped crown type of moldings. I am glueing them up but also using screws to pull the outside spacer boards up tight until the glue sets. The space inside the bottom base and and top base do not allow for the Impact driver so I pulled out my right angle drill.

IMMEDIATELY, I remembered former problems with drill drivers as the bit driver wanted to jump out and spin. So, like riding a bike, I remembered what I had to do with drill drivers that I don't have to do with IDs - I gripped tight, added lots of pressure to the head . . . and still had a little bit of spin out.

Then I discovered if I used only one of those very short bits that fits inside of a magnetic extension, the ID would fit once the screws were within 1/8 inch of seating. MAN, what a difference the Impact Driver does over a Drill Driver.

Now if I can only find a right angle cordless ID!
    Hank Lee

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you wanted!
  • Uncle Cracker
    The Full Monte
    • May 2007
    • Sunshine State
    • BT3000

That's probably because a drill/driver hammers the bit into the work, whereas the impact driver's hammering is rotational. I consider my Bosch driver one of my most useful tools, and am also impressed by the Milwaukee unit, which has considerably more torque, but leaves a bigger footprint.

Originally posted by leehljp