X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • farkel
    Forum Newbie
    • Dec 2002

Going to the Dark Side

I have been using my bt3100 as a hobbyist for over six years and have built a house full of furniture with it. I am probably moving on to a Bosch 4100 in the next few days, however, for the following reasons:

1. For the past year, the blade routinely refuses to elevate properly, the adjustment wheel is almost stripped as a result, and I have failed miserably numerous times to fix these problems, so, I find myself not using the blade guard or leaving the blade set very high, to limit the number of times I have to raise the blade. DEFINITELY NOT GOOD.

2. I want the safety benefits of a shark guard but don't want to spend $100 plus on an accessory for my aging bt3100.

3. I get easier and better results with a homemade table saw sled than with the BT3100 sliding miter table, so the BT signature feature is no longer relevant.

4. The Bosch is uniformly highly rated and a reconditioned Bosch is a relative bargain for the hobbyist.

Besides having to spend the money on a new saw, my biggest regret will be that I will no longer be a member in good standing of the bt3100 cult.
  • Whaler
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2002
    • Sequim, WA, USA.
    • DW746

There are a few of us dark siders that are still active on here so there is no reason to run away.
    Dick

http://www.picasaweb.google.com/rgpete2/

Comment

• Uncle Cracker
      The Full Monte
      • May 2007
      • Sunshine State
      • BT3000

We still tolerate those of you who have lost your perspective...

Comment

• JimD
        Veteran Member
        • Feb 2003
        • Lexington, SC.