• Show
Clear All
  • Iansaws
    Established Member
    • Jul 2007
    • Marietta, Ga
    • Ryobi BT3100

I need a circular saw...any suggestions

I am in the market for a new circular saw. I am just a weekend woodworker, not a pro, but I want something that will last. I am looking at the Hitachi C7SB2 15 Amp 7-1/4-Inch saw that Reconditioned Sales, Inc has for $57.00. Lowes has it new for $87. It looks and feels like a good CS for the money. I have heard and contributed to all of the negative reviews of RSI, but I have only had one bad experience out of 3 with them and everything I have received has been as advertised. Does anyone have any suggestions.

John
    Attached Files
    I feel more like I do today than I did yesterday...
  • Alex Franke
    Veteran Member
    • Feb 2007
    • Chapel Hill, NC
    • Ryobi BT3100

I have that saw -- it was a great bargain. The adjustment levers can be tight, but overall I this it's a great saw. I think I paid $100, so $87 is probably a pretty good deal, too.
    online at http://www.theFrankes.com
    while ( !( succeed = try() ) ) ;
    "Life is short, Art long, Occasion sudden and dangerous, Experience deceitful, and Judgment difficult." -Hippocrates

Comment

• cabinetman
      Gone but not Forgotten RIP
      • Jun 2006
      • So. Florida
      • Delta

My suggestion is to check out what's available and some details that may make using a saw more convenient. Considering the power, 15 AMPS is great. Some saws (PC, for example) can be purchased with blade right or left of the motor. Other features would be weight, type of base plate shoe, and bevel and height adjustment mechanisms. Most all have guides included. If you can, try actually handling your choices, just to get a "feel".

Comment

• 182much
        Forum Newbie
        • Jan 2008
        • Norco, CA

I have used the worm drive saws (blade on the left side of the saw) for many many years being a carpenter by trade .