X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • FromWack
    Forum Newbie
    • Nov 2007

miter saw advice

Hi guys, looking to make my first miter saw purchase. I have plenty of experience with different ones at work, but I am leaning toward a 10". A 10" slider would be ideal, but the price doesnt work.....Also I was thinking of a recon. 12" but heard bad things about blade wobble for finish work....any suggestions would be great. Thanks
  • MilDoc

All miter saws from any company seem to have some degree of blade wobble. I don't know if that's worse with recon saws though. Anyone have one?

I bought a Denali, not the best, but it does what I need.

Comment

• eccentrictinkerer
      • Aug 2007
      • Minneapolis, MN
      • BT-3000, 21829

I've had a Makita 1220 12" for several years. I use it often in my handyman business and have never had any evidence of blade wobble. Use a good blade and you'll get great results. You can crosscut an 8" board easily.

I chose a 12" over a slider because of portability (the SCMS is a pretty big chunk to heave in and out of a van). My cousin has the Dewalt 10" SCMS and he's always borrowing my saw because it's easier to handle.

I have a Ridgid 10" for small jobs, but the Makita 12" is a much better saw.
      You might think I haven't contributed much to the world, but a large number
      of the warning labels on tools can be traced back to things I've done...

Comment

• drumpriest
        Veteran Member
        • Feb 2004
        • Pittsburgh, Pa, USA.
        • Powermatic PM 2000

I have a recon LS1013 makita, and it's been great for many years. I'm very pleased with it. Got it for about 350$

Don't see any wobble from it either.
        Keith Z. Leonard
        Go Steelers!

Comment

• Schleeper
          Established Member
          • Feb 2008