• Show
Clear All
  • cobob
    Established Member
    • Jan 2004
    • Rolla, MO, USA.
    • BT3100

Ryobi 10" band saw

I've anguished over band saws for years and had resolved to wait for a bigger one. Recently, lowes closed out the delta bench top for $75. Uncaracteristiclly, I didn't buy on impulse but it got me relooking on the internet. This time I found a review of the Ryobi 10" bandsaw which got rave reviews & seemed like a great deal...only it went out of production?!&%?! It seemed to be the perfect compromise and there are obviously hoardes of people stuck between a benchtop & standalone band saw.

I'm a newbie & part scottish so most of my projects are from pine 2x4 & ripping 2x4s to 1x4s with the TS is < optimal.

This on top of the beloved BT going out of production...what's is Ryobi doing? Have they been bought out by a middle east cartel??

More ranting to follow
  • Joe DeFazio
    Forum Newbie
    • Jan 2006
    • Pittsburgh, PA
    • BT3100

Though you may find that many folks on this forum prefer the Hitachi or even the Harbor Freight 14" (close to as cheap when on sale), I used to have the Ryobi BS1001SV, and I really loved it. Though it has lots of plastic parts instead of cast iron, it cut extremely accurately, had outstanding dust collection, a good fence, big table, good safety features, and innovative engineering throughout.

When I first got it, I resawed some veneer-thin slices of 3 1/2" stock. I was impressed with the quality of the cut, but when I showed my brother who has a 21" Grizzly, he couldn't believe it! And that was with the stock blade….

The only downsides I found were the limited resaw capacity and throat (clearance to the left of the blade). I eventually moved up to a 14" Ridgid with the riser block, only because I had a lot of bigger wood to resaw (riser block gives 12" resaw capacity). Though I gave the Ryobi to a relative, I still miss it, and often wish it were still around for smaller jobs.