Clear All
  • Alex Franke
    Veteran Member
    • Feb 2007
    • Chapel Hill, NC
    • Ryobi BT3100

3D CAD for woodworkers

Hi all,

I didn't see any obvious threads on this, so I thought I'd start one to see what people are using for design (and if they're using anything at all). I have some experience with a few CAD packages, but for a lot of projects I still just use old fashioned paper & pencil for work up a design.

I've been using a tool called Alibre Design, which is available in a free version that works with up to 10 or so parts. They recently came out with a version specifically for woodworkers that includes BOM and sheet layout software which looks pretty interesting (Alibre Design Workshop)

Google recently purchased SketchUp, which is also free. It's very cool to use and great for visualization, but I found it to be limiting when it came time to plan details.

Anyone else use CAD and have a favorite?
    online at http://www.theFrankes.com
    while ( !( succeed = try() ) ) ;
    "Life is short, Art long, Occasion sudden and dangerous, Experience deceitful, and Judgment difficult." -Hippocrates
  • IBBugsy
    Established Member
    • Jan 2006
    • Allentown, PA.
    • BT3100

Originally posted by Alex Franke
    Google recently purchased SketchUp, which is also free. It's very cool to use and great for visualization, but I found it to be limiting when it came time to plan details.
    I agree. Just couldn't make it work the way I wanted for details. I used TurboCad a lot in the past for work and small stuff but got rid of it before I started wood working. What little I've done since I've been using Microsoft Visio since it's on my work computer but it isn't a strong detail program.
    Dave - Weekend Garage Junkie
    "I'm no physicist but I know what matters" - Popeye

Comment

• New Guy
      Forum Newbie
      • Jun 2006
      • Sierra Lakes golf course Fontana Ca
      • BT3100