• Show
Clear All
  • Rolly
    Forum Newbie
    • Jan 2006
    • Titusville, Florida, USA.
    • BT3100

Belt Sander Recommendations

I'm in the market for a belt sander, variable speed - 3x21. I just returned a $99 craftsman because of the extremely poor tracking. I've got a few projects I need to make and find it is easier to buy then rent. I'm a hobbyist and want something reliable. Based on your experience with belt sanders what is a good product to buy? I appreciate your recommendations!
  • Pappy
    The Full Monte
    • Dec 2002
    • San Marcos, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 (x2)

Porter Cable VS352! The best balanced sander I have ever used. Heavy enough to not need pressure on horizontal surfaces and still light enough that it won't wear you out on verticle areas.
    Don, aka Pappy,

Wise men talk because they have something to say,
    Fools because they have to say something.
    Plato

Comment

• jseklund
      Established Member
      • Aug 2006

I am going to second Pappy's recommendation on the Porter Cable, even though I have never owned or really used one. I have picked it up in the store though, and it does seem well balanced.

I have a Dewalt 432- this is a great sander. I think it is even better balanced than the porter cable to be honest. It does a great job, when you are using it. The reason I wouldn't recommend this one is because I got it about a year and a half ago and it died after less than 10 hours of use. It took 5 weeks to get a replacement from Dewalt. No smoke, no noise, just picked it up and it was dead.