• Show
Clear All
  • offthemark
    Established Member
    • Jan 2004
    • Germantown, TN, USA.
    • BT3100

HF Tile Saw

Anyone have experience with any of the HF wet tile saws? This will be lightly used as I only have about a 8 sqft section of floor and about 32 sqft of walls to cover. Budget is the primary concern. I was thinking about this model.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...temnumber=3733

Click image for larger version

Name:	03733.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	9.6 KB
ID:	789452
    Mark
    --------
    "There are no stupid questions - just stupid people"
  • mpauly
    Established Member
    • Apr 2006
    • NJ

What kind and size tiles are you using?

I have no experience with the HF saw, but it will probably be fine for a small job using 4x4 or similar ceramic tiles. Many people use the similar low end Workforce saw available at HD with success. If you're going to use porcelain (which is much tougher), if the motor lasts, the cheapo blade likely will not. A good porcelain blade is going to run $40 at least. Like most HF tools, these aren't built to last, but will likely survive your small job.

Also, keep in mind what pattern you will be laying and if you have to make any diagonal cuts. That table is pretty small and may make it difficult to support longer diagonal cuts.

Take a look at this site for more tiling info than you'd ever need and search for 'QEP' or 'workforce' for some threads on similar saws.

http://johnbridge.com/vbulletin/index.php

Comment

• JimD
      Veteran Member
      • Feb 2003
      • Lexington, SC.

Mark,