• Show
Clear All
  • AZ Tom
    Forum Newbie
    • Sep 2005
    • Murrieta, CA, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3000

Radial Arm Saw Question

I just picked up a used 10" radial arm saw for a fencing project (as soon as the weather cools a bit), and now have a couple of questions. I would like to use this thing for cross cutting rough wide stock (10" wide by 1" thick). Can I use the same blade as my BT3100? I have a spare new original BT blade. I not concerned so much about the quality of the cut, just want to be safe.

Second, I would like to do some half lap joints on 2x4 and 4x4 stock, and am thinking of using my SD206 dado blade on this radial arm saw. Are there any issues using this dado blade on a radial arm saw? Again, just asking before I go out and do something stupid...

I appreciate any advice offered.....

Tom
  • Turaj
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2002
    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
    • BT3000 (1998)

Tom

I am no expert but I do have a RAS and these are my experiences:

Typical RAS blade has a different hook angle (negative?) from a TS blade. This makes for better cut as well as preventing the blade to ride on your lumber (moving on its own towards you).

I have used my 6" dado blades (Avenger) on RAS many times with no problem and I think cutting half lap is one of the better features of RAS.

I am sure others can add more (and better descriptions)
    Turaj (in Toronto)
    "When I read about the evils of drinking, I gave up reading!" Henny Youngman

Comment

• coach
      Established Member
      • Jan 2005
      • Forney, TX.
      • Powermatic 66

From a one time RAS user.

The radial arm saw can be as accurate and safe as any other power tool in your shop, if you take the time to learn the tool and set it up properly. Before you make any cuts with the RAS, I advise you download and read this book:

http://www.wired-2-shop.com/joneakes...ageID=&CatID=1