• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Erik Eitel
    Forum Newbie
    • Dec 2004
    • Jackson, NJ, USA.

Fire Safety

Last night at work (I'm a firefighter) we were sent to an industrial complex for a possible fire. There is a millwork company there and just outside their building they had 4 - 35 gallon garbage cans full of sawdust from their DC system. The contents of one of the cans was smoldering. We couldn't determine what it was but something had started a fire in the middle of the contents of the can and had burned a hole through the plastic wall of the garbage can.

Point to the story:

Check your shop smoke (or heat) detector, and make sure you have at least one fire extinguisher nearby. Also, be very careful with anything that may cause a fire.

These guys were lucky. The 4 garbage cans were located next to an overflowing dumpster, that had about 10 large wooden pallets leaning against it and 2 vans parked nearby.

Had it not been for the occupants of the building next store, things could have turned out worse.

I did mange to score a 3' x 3' piece of 1 1/4" laminated MDF from their scrap pile though!

Erik
  • Whaler
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2002
    • Sequim, WA, USA.
    • DW746

Erik

I do have several fire extinguishers in the shop but had never thought of a smoke detector.
    Thanks for the post.
    Dick

http://www.picasaweb.google.com/rgpete2/

Comment

• final_t
      Veteran Member
      • Nov 2003

"Suddne Heat Rise" (with IR if possible) detector is what I suggest, not a straight smoke detector, since every one I've ever put in the shop gets set off by the dust that manages to get out (esp. when using MDF). So the rest of the house is really well covered by the "nope, won't work here" units (note: this is also true in the kitchen when you have a oven that is a pain to keep clean).
      As for what set off the smoldering fire, would not be a bit surprised if someone sucked up a finishing rag or the like.

Comment

• gerti
        Veteran Member