• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • woodsy11
    Handtools only
    • Sep 2011

Sound Proofing and insulating a workshop

G'Day Folks

I'm in the process of converting a concrete slab, brick wall, tin skillion roof 2 car garage into a woodshop.
    We have already done some substantial work to this end, (construction of a 10 sm, mezzanine platform for timber storage, construction of working height perimeter benches on 2 walls, framing for an office/storeroom).
    My major concern now, is how best to insulate and possibly soundproof the building (only if necessary with the latter).
    I am a carpenter by trade, and so think i'm pretty useful at construction, (some of the time anyway, that is i know enough to avoid some trouble, sometimes).
    I have also read a few forums threads on this and other forums about soundproofing in particular, and been encouraged and engaged by the inventiveness, of some people in attempting to address these dual problems.
    However like most folks my wallet has rat traps set on them by my good wife, so getting a professional job done is not an option.
    If anybody has any suggestions that i might be able to have a crack at, especially those that might serve the dual purpose of insulation and soundproofing, it would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Woodsy11
  • pelligrini
    Veteran Member
    • Apr 2007
    • Fort Worth, TX
    • Craftsman 21829

What sort of temperatures are you insulating the shop from? How extreme are the temps you are trying to slow down from getting in? It it going to be air conditioned?

What sort of sound attenuation are you needing? Is this attached to a residence or stand alone, or are you just trying not to keep the neighbors up at night. Or are you trying to keep it quieter in your office?