• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • chrisNC
    Forum Newbie
    • Feb 2006

Basement Shop Questions

Hey guys,

I'm still fairly new to all of this, but I picked up a 3100 a few months ago and I've been pretty pleased. We're moving onto some acreage and plopping down a house. The cheapest way to add shop space is evidently in the basement, and it will have more space than I could ever use for a shop, so we may also finish part of it for more living space.

My first concern is noise. If I have a DC and planer or something running, will it make the space above unusable from the amount of noise? The space will need to go under the living area or bedroom area and I don't want to bother the wife or toddler in either space. I saw a post about Homasote, but will it be enough to keep it to a white noise level? Is there a better choice to use?

Thanks in advance for responding. I'm sure I'll have other questions, but I'll research this one to death first. Maybe my first question should be: What questions should I be asking when building a basement shop from scratch?
  • cgallery
    Veteran Member
    • Sep 2004
    • Milwaukee, WI
    • BT3K

Originally posted by chrisNC
    Hey guys,

I'm still fairly new to all of this, but I picked up a 3100 a few months ago and I've been pretty pleased. We're moving onto some acreage and plopping down a house. The cheapest way to add shop space is evidently in the basement, and it will have more space than I could ever use for a shop, so we may also finish part of it for more living space.

My first concern is noise. If I have a DC and planer or something running, will it make the space above unusable from the amount of noise? The space will need to go under the living area or bedroom area and I don't want to bother the wife or toddler in either space. I saw a post about Homasote, but will it be enough to keep it to a white noise level? Is there a better choice to use?