• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jeffrey Schronce
    Veteran Member
    • Nov 2005
    • York, PA, USA.

YAEQ - Yet Another Electrical ?

I have as new jointer. It has a 3 hp, 220v motor (that is very heavy and about broke my wrist today). No plug and they recommend NEMA 6-20P with 20 amp breaker. The only 220 outlet in my shop is 50 A and has a 3 blade receptical. The 50A breaker is completely incompatible with this machine right? I need to install a 20 A breaker and run line to new 6-20R right?
    I have never done this before, but my breaker box has plenty of room and is 100 A service. It has the 50 A breaker that goes to outlet that has been used once of an old welder we brought from the farm. There are (3) 15 A breakers.
  • Tom Miller
    Veteran Member
    • Mar 2003
    • Twin Cities, MN
    • BT3000 - Cuttin' it old school

Originally posted by Jeffrey Schronce
    I have as new jointer. It has a 3 hp, 220v motor
    First things first: you suck.
    The 50A breaker is completely incompatible with this machine right?
    Yeah, I think so. But there may be a couple ways you could deal with it. I wonder if you could replace the 50A breaker with a 20A, and use the existing wire. I don't know if you can get 6 ga. wire into a 20A breaker, but maybe you could pigtail to 12 ga. You'd have to do that at the receptacle, too. This would be the quickest way to get up and running.

Or, you could replace the 50A receptacle with a subpanel, and wire your 20A circuit from there.

I don't profess to know anything about code, so take these hair-brained ideas for what they're worth.

Regards,
    Tom

Comment

• Jeffrey Schronce
      Veteran Member
      • Nov 2005
      • York, PA, USA.