• Show
Clear All
  • tfischer
    Veteran Member
    • Jul 2003
    • Plymouth (Minneapolis), MN, USA.
    • BT3100

Wood drawer slides - finish?

I'm coming along pretty well with my double dressers project. The plans call for wood drawer slides and side guides which I have all milled up. So my question: do I put a finish on them to help them slide? Leave them "naked"? Just put something like a paste wax on them?

I want them to operate smoothly, obviously.

Thanks,
    -Tim
  • leehljp
    Just me
    • Dec 2002
    • Tunica, MS
    • BT3000/3100

I have just waxed them, and again about every 3 years. I'm not an expert on this but if I had it to do over again, I would probably put a coat of clear poly or varnish, let it dry a week and then wax it.
    Hank Lee

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you wanted!

Comment

• cwsmith
      Veteran Member
      • Dec 2005
      • NY Southern Tier, USA.
      • BT3100-1

My own thoughts are that a finish like shellac or poly would provide more friction than just the plain wood. For the couple of projects that I've made, I've just used wax. But has Hank Lee has stated, I think that needs some refreshing every few years. There is a product called "SLIPIT" that is pretty good. The label states "Woodworker's Sliding Compound" and says that it is silicone free, nonflamable, dielectric, and odor free. They have a website at www.slipit.com.

I bought my pint-sized can from Lee-Valley... http://www.leevalley.com/US/wood/pag...=1,43415,43440

No other affiliation with Lee-Valley other than being an admiring customer.

Hope this helps,

CWS
      Think it Through Before You Do!

Comment

• atgcpaul
        Veteran Member
        • Aug 2003
        • Maryland
        • Grizzly 1023SLX