• Show
Clear All
  • SSO720
    Forum Newbie
    • Jan 2011
    • Knoxville TN
    • Ryobi BT3000

Cupped Wood

This question is addressed to all the wood meisters out there. Several months ago I bought a very nice piece of flamed ambrosia maple. It was1" x 8" x 20" and my intent was a bookmatched top on a Telecaster style guitar build.
    I did the resaw of the thickness, ended up with 2 real nice pieces, jointed and planed both halves down to 5/16 +/-. It looked beautiful. Since that time it has cupped approx 1/16" and I am now wondering if I will be able to use it.
    I have tried running it through the planer again but the cup is still evident. Is it scrap or should I try gluing it up and just clamp the heck out of it and hope it sticks.
  • BigguyZ
    Veteran Member
    • Jul 2006
    • Minneapolis, MN
    • Craftsman, older type w/ cast iron top

It is scrap. Send it to me, and I'll dispose of it properly.

But seriously, I'm no expert, but I'm assuming you're going to laminate it on another piece of wood? If so, is it cupped so badly that it wouldn't flatten out?

Comment

• SSO720
      Forum Newbie
      • Jan 2011
      • Knoxville TN
      • Ryobi BT3000

I do think that with enough glue and clamps, it will (I hope) flatten out. Just need to figure out how to clamp the 2 pieces together so I get a good edge bond

Comment

• cabinetman
        Gone but not Forgotten RIP
        • Jun 2006
        • So. Florida
        • Delta

You might try a veneer softener, like this. It should relax your wood.

Comment

• mpc
          • Feb 2005
          • Cypress, CA, USA.
          • BT3000 orig 13amp model