• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • thrytis
    • May 2004
    • Concord, NC, USA.
    • Delta Unisaw

Changing table finish

I'm currently working on a changing table, with the due date rapidly approaching. I've started thinking about finishing now so that i will have the supplies i need and have tested before i am ready to start. I'm still a novice, especially when it comes to finishing, so i would appreciate comments.

It is made out of soft maple. I want to add a little bit of amber color to it to match the crib, and finish with a satin coat. I was thinking of a base coat of shellac (dewaxed), both inside and out, to seal and add color, followed by a satin lacquer on the outside only. The choice of lacquer is largely speed (quick dry, no sanding between coats except to fix problems) plus future repairs. I was going to try spraying with my Critter spray gun (probably on the larger side for this gun, but hopefully doable with some patience), rolling it out to the driveway on dollies to spray.

Assuming this sounds reasonable, what lacquer to you recommend? Is Deft as good as any (and easy to find locally), or is it worth getting something like Target Coatings USL/EM6000 lacquer i've heard recommended, or something else? Can i do all coats of satin, or should use gloss except for the final coat?

Here it is in the current state:

Thanks!
    Eric
  • RAV2
    Established Member
    • Aug 2007
    • Massachusetts

Do the fine finish on the lower end as you wish.

For the top, go with a closely matched formica (laminate) - the top gets all the use and needs to be able to be quickly cleaned.

Comment

• Jim Frye
      Veteran Member
      • Dec 2002
      • Maumee, OH, USA.
      • Ryobi BT3000 & BT3100

RE: Critter...