• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tomscanio
    Forum Newbie
    • Jan 2003
    • McKinney, TX, USA.

Got A Burl ... Now What?

My wife and I kept going by a willow (I think) tree that had a big burl on it during our nightly walks in a nature area by our house. Well, we had some bad weather and the tree went down. I checked with the local folks, got permission, borrowed a chainsaw and I now possess the burl. Pictures are attached. BTW, I still have all appendages and digits after my first chainsaw experience.

I have no experience in this. I painted the cut area to retard excessive drying and checking but in less than two days there is some cracking evident in the photo. I think this is going along internal layers that overlay each other. I guess the internal stresses are letting go without the rest of the tree to hold them together.

I want to make a large bowl out of this and have a bunch of questions.

1) Can I do anything more to stop cracking or are the stresses just going to have their way?
    2) I plan on debarking and establishing the outside first and cut away any areas that wouldn't be worthwhile. I will try to let the piece speak for itself though. The bowl will not be perfectly smooth. Then I plan on scooping out the inside roughly, let it sit for a while for drying and destressing, scoop and wait again, etc. until I get the sides down to maybe 1/2 inch. Is this the right method?
    3) What tools are recommended for debarking and scooping out the inside? This may be a good opportunity to get more tools!

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Tom Scanio
    Attached Files
  • jgrobler
    Established Member
    • Dec 2005
    • Salinas, CA, USA.
    • TS3650

This is beyond me. I also often pick up free wood from trees that blow over, of are cut down, and some pieces are left for later cleanup.