• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BadeMillsap
    • Dec 2005
    • Bulverde, Texas, USA.
    • Grizzly G1023SL

... to learn from a master ....

... my woodworking interest grew out of my interest in music and more specifically lutherie (building stringed musical instruments). Over time I have built several solid body electric guitars, acoustic flattop guitars, a banjo and two mandolins (the mandolins from kits from Stewart-MacDonald ). The 'art' of lutherie and more specifically building a carved top Florentine style mandolin ( pics ) is definitely a bit daunting ... to this point I have been "self taught" reading books, watching videos and making lottsa instructional mistakes ... I'd classify myself very much a "mechanic" level and far far from an artisan ...

In October of this year I will attend a five day "Siminoff Lutherie Camp" dedicated to building "F style" mandolins and I have to say I am very excited at the prospect. The instructor and leader of this camp is Roger Siminoff . Roger is the author of the definitive text on building F style mandolins and a recognized master of the craft. This would be tantamount to attending a week long furniture building seminar under the direct instruction of Sam Maloof (when Sam was still with us).

The decision to take this step was very much a "teach a man to fish ..." line of thinking for me ... the cost of attending the seminar including travel expense is about equal to the cost of a very nice upper-middle of the road F style mandolin by recognized builders or companies, but I'm hoping to learn enough to get to that level of quality quicker than without the seminar.

I know there are several folks on this forum that are luthiers of one caliber or another and just wanted to share what I have to look forward to. I'll do my best to share some of the experiences via this forum after the fact.
    "Like an old desperado, I paint the town beige ..." REK
    Bade Millsap
    Bulverde, Texas
    => Bade's Personal Web Log