• Show
Clear All
  • bluzcat
    Forum Newbie
    • May 2003
    • Gosport, IN, USA.
    • BT-3100 & Jet Cabinet Saw

Hickory or White Oak?

Last summer I bought about 125 bd/ft of rough sawn "hickory" from a small local sawyer. I went there to get maple and cherry and the hickory was a good price so I got some of that as well. I'm just now starting to prep some of this hickory and it sure looks like white oak. Some of the pieces have medullary rays (or fleks). Is this common in hickory? I've never worked with either before so I'm not 100% what I've got! I'm at work right now. When I get home I'll take a pic and try to post it.
    \"He who dies with the most clamps, WINS!\"
  • Knottscott
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2004
    • Rochester, NY.
    • 2008 Shop Fox W1677

I've worked with a fair amount of WO, but only a little hickory. The pieces I've seen don't resemble WO enough to get them confused, but I've only been exposed to a few boards. Also, hickory is noticeably heavier per bd/ft.
    Happiness is sort of like wetting your pants....everyone can see it, but only you can feel the warmth.

Comment

• MilDoc

Some, but not all, species (= 15) of hickory can have pronounced medullary rays. It's a very hard wood that is hard on cutting tools and is prone to tear out and chipping, more so than white oak.

Comment

• JimD
        Veteran Member
        • Feb 2003
        • Lexington, SC.

I have never worked with hickory but my local dealer had some for awhile. It had quite pronounced color differences that did not seem to be sap versus heartwood. The darker color was almost like walnut, the lighter color was more like oak. I did not look at it close enough to see the pores. I didn't care for the large color variation but for the right project it could look nice.

Jim

Comment

• Lee4847
          Established Member
          • Feb 2006
          • Canton, Oh
          • BT3100

Hickory = HARD on Tools