X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kwc
    Forum Newbie
    • Jan 2007

Entertainment credenza - hardware

My next project is an entertainment credenza to be made out of cherry. I'm seeking some recommendations for hardware to allow me to flush-mount glass-paneled doors and hide the hinges. The door and carcase thicknesses will be 3/4". I'm a relative newbie so I don't want to install something too challenging... would like to be able to obtain a nice, even reveal around the door and I've never built frame & panel doors before.

Are barrel hinges the best way to go for this application? Or is there a better alternative? Drilling a couple of holes seems to be a pretty straightforward way to go, hence the draw toward barrel hinges.

Here's a sketch I just finished:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Entertainment_credenza_rough_sketch_web.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	40.6 KB
ID:	790831

Thank you,
    kwc
  • atgcpaul
    Veteran Member
    • Aug 2003
    • Maryland
    • Grizzly 1023SLX

Originally posted by kwc
    Are barrel hinges the best way to go for this application? Or is there a better alternative? Drilling a couple of holes seems to be a pretty straightforward way to go, hence the draw toward barrel hinges.

Thank you,
    kwc
    Nice sketch. (You have an extra door knob in the picture, though) I've
    never used barrel hinges but know people who have. Your drilling has to be
    spot on to get an even reveal which is hard enough with regular hinges. I'd
    make your door rails and stiles a little bigger than finished size so your door
    fits close to snug in the opening. Drill the barrel holes and mount the hinges.
    Then carefully fit your door to size with a handplane or tablesaw/sled to get
    the even reveal.

Good luck and I look forward to pictures.

Paul

Comment

• kwc
      Forum Newbie
      • Jan 2007

Paul,

I caught the misplaced knob right after posting. I must admit having knobs on both sides would make hinge placement interesting. :-)