• Show
Clear All
  • MikeR
    Forum Newbie
    • Dec 2006
    • Bayside, NY
    • Craftsman 21829

A sailboat project....thoughts?

As I said in my initial post, I work in the sailboat industry doing rigging and other obscure boat jobs.

I currently have a customer with the following problem:

1. Mast is aluminium.
    2. Mast step (where the bottom of the mast rests) is steel.
    3. Mast step is in the bilge and is in contact with salt water most of the time.

Steel-Aluminium in the presence of salt water sets up a battery like situation and the bottom of the mast (less noble) is beginning to corrode.

Here's what I'm considering:

Built a 'platform' from end grain white oak upon which to place the existing mast step. This will raise it out of the water. This platform will be 2.25" high.
    Remove the same amount from the base of the mast so that all the rigging wires will fit. (Don't want to have to replace them, that's a $2,000 job).

The mast weighs about 200lbs but the total compression load due to other forces will measure in the nine thousand pound range. The finished platform will be 7"x19" and there won't be any point loading. (It's essentially flat).

I'm wondering what the collective wisdom of the group is relative to this solution.

Looking for some 'different perspective' suggestions.

Cheers,

MikeR
  • MikeR
    Forum Newbie
    • Dec 2006
    • Bayside, NY
    • Craftsman 21829

A follow up

From Samuel J. Records study "Mechanical Properties of Wood", compression strength of white oak parallel to grain is 3520 lbs/ sq inch. Given that the platform will be 133 sq inches, it should support 468,160 lbs.

By the way, I plan on using smallish individual pieces, say 2"x2" epoxied together with a band of XGlass epoxied around the perimeter to keep the whole mess in one piece.

Thoughts?

Cheers,

MikeR

Comment

• lcm1947
      Veteran Member
      • Sep 2004
      • Austin, Texas
      • BT 3100-1