• Show
Clear All
  • lcm1947
    Veteran Member
    • Sep 2004
    • Austin, Texas
    • BT 3100-1

best finish for coffee table?

Well I am finally going to start on my very first piece of furniture. A coffee table. It's going to be built out of oak and oak veneer plywood. I am thinking about using wipe-on poly since I think I could actually apply it better meaning no brush marks. Any opinions as to whether this would be proper for a coffee table? I'm thinking water would be the biggest enemy so I figure the poly would be the best thing. What do you guys recommend? It's going to be a gift ( if I don't screw it up ) to my daughter so really want it to look really really good and pretty. You know something she'd be maybe proud of. All suggestions welcome. Thanks!
    May you die and go to heaven before the Devil knows you're dead. My Best, Mac
  • gerti
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2003
    • Minnetonka, MN, USA.
    • BT3100 "Frankensaw"

I am not an expert, so take this with a grain of salt. I think wipe-on poly is a good choice. However oak has some large pores, so I think a wash coat or two of shellac to seal the pores would be advisable before applying the poly.

Comment

• jackellis
      Veteran Member
      • Nov 2003
      • Tahoe City, CA, USA.
      • BT3100

It's going to be a gift ( if I don't screw it up ) to my daughter so really want it to look really really good and pretty.
      My wife is a perfectionist in just about everything she does but she's been very complimentary of the things I've built, no matter how badly I think I've screwed them up. I think your daughter will be thrilled to death with anything you make simply because you made it, even if it isn't as perfect as you'd want it to be.

We tend to be our own worst critics, don't we?

Comment

• zootroy
        Established Member
        • Oct 2005
        • Coeur D\'Alene, Idaho.