• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • WoodButcher26
    Established Member
    • Mar 2006
    • Dayton, OH

Water-based Poly

Has anyone found a good source for water-based poly recently? I've been using mostly oil-based for the past several years, my son and future D-I-L requested a clearer finish for a project I'm doing for them. I figured on water-base due to the non-yellowing effect it has.

Then, today I went to the store to pick up some poly to start the finishing process and just about had kittens. Double the price and then some for a product I really don't like as well, just not into paying nearly twenty bucks a quart for the stuff. Checked a couple of other stores, same story there.

Suggestions, anyone? Have not had great luck with the Minwax, that's the only brand I can find locally and I've got to get this done, the wedding is next week....

Kim
    Measure it with a micrometer...
    Mark it with a crayon...
    Cut it with a chain saw!

Wood Butcher
  • drumpriest
    Veteran Member
    • Feb 2004
    • Pittsburgh, Pa, USA.
    • Powermatic PM 2000

This is a Rocker and a Woodcraft in Cincinnati. Both stores carry General Finishes, and have Polyacrylic.
    Keith Z. Leonard
    Go Steelers!

Comment

• cabinetman
      Gone but not Forgotten RIP
      • Jun 2006
      • So. Florida
      • Delta

The Min-Wax brand works very well. Stir, don't shake it. If you spray it thin about 10% with water. If you brush it use synthetic bristle brush.

"I'M NEVER WRONG - BUT I'M NOT ALWAYS RIGHT"

Comment

• Popeye
        Veteran Member
        • Mar 2003
        • Woodbine, Ga
        • Grizzly 1023SL

Try an independant paint dealer. Down here we have a place called "Color Wheel". Some carry their own brands that are much cheaper than Min-wax. Pat
        Woodworking is therapy.....some of us need more therapy than others. <ZERO>

Comment

• eezlock
          • Feb 2006
          • Charlotte,N.C.
          • BT3100

water based poly