• Show
Clear All
  • sleddogg
    Forum Newbie
    • Feb 2006
    • Reedsburg, WI
    • Ryobi BT3100 Italian blade

Culrly natural Birch

I have an 8' x 7" 4/4 rough sawn board with so much curl in it it literally looks like end grain in between some of the rays. Being a newbie I'm not sure what to do to smooth it out. I want to make four book matched panels for flat panel doors for an entertainment center. I figure I'll cut to rough length, resaw, face joint, edge joint, thickness plane, (close to desired thickness), cut to width, cut to length and edge glue into panels. Then hope to smooth out grain undulations with a scraper. Am I on track here? Also is there anything I can use to fill the grain if indeed there is no smoothing out the "tearout" caused by cutters in the grain change? I'll try and post a pic so you can visualize the drastic grain directions in this board.

P.S. How do I post a picture here from my digital camera?
  • mschrank
    Veteran Member
    • Oct 2004
    • Hood River, OR, USA.
    • BT3000

Originally posted by sleddogg

Probably easiest to download the pic from your camera to your PC first. Then click on the "attachment" icon (looks like a paper clip) and follow your nose from there...

Also, take a look at this thread for tips.
    Mike

Drywall screws are not wood screws

Comment

• Russianwolf
      Veteran Member
      • Jan 2004
      • Martinsburg, WV, USA.
      • One of them there Toy saws

Originally posted by sleddogg