• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • VillageNut
    Forum Newbie
    • Feb 2006
    • Hot Springs, AR, USA.

Used my new Miter for Crown Molding

Put up some crown molding in my bedroom using my new P-C 10' twin laser and PC finish nailer. Worked great. only mistakes were user error. We cheated though and bought the decorative corner pieces to prevent complex cuts. LOML now wants crown in the bathroom with no corner pieces. I have looked at a couple of books and they seem to provide pretty good explanations and pictures.

3 questions
    1. Is there a book that is the "standard" for crown and other molding?
    2. Is it really that hard to calculate the compound cuts?
    3. Already had an aunt hit me up and is willing to pay to have some installed in her house. If our bathroom goes well, I may take the job. How would you charge?
  • darrellcraig
    Forum Newbie
    • Jan 2006
    • Seattle, WA, USA.

I'm new to woodworking thing and am starting with trim (base, crown, window, door) in my home office as a trial run with all this new equipment. Flipped thru a bunch of books and liked Taunton's Trim Carpentry and Built-Ins book the best. Subtitled, 'Build Like A Pro: Expert Advice from Start to Finish' which seems a good description. Covers project planning, materials selection, windows, base and crown in depth. Lots of pictures, seemed to have all the detail needed to install confidence for this first-timer. Less prescriptive for built-ins but I didn't care about that - not happening for a while. Good luck!

Comment

• scorrpio
      Veteran Member
      • Dec 2005
      • Wayne, NJ, USA.

Dunno about book, but if your miter's fence is high enough to put the crown against it at install angle, you don't need a compound cut, just a miter. And unless you are installing some humongous 6" crown, most miters should have a high enough fence. Make sure you measure the corners carefully with a bevel gauge - they sometimes are out of square.