• Show
Clear All
  • Ed62
    The Full Monte
    • Oct 2006
    • NW Indiana
    • BT3K

Drywall over drywall with adhesive?

I know I haven't posted much lately, but I've been around quite a bit.

We have a room that previously had bead board around the room, and it was put on with adhesive. Before we moved in, someone had ripped the bead board off the walls, leaving that part of the drywall a mess. Instead of using new bead board, I'm thinking of putting 3/8" drywall over that part, and using trim on the top to make it look good.

I am not good at drywall finishing, although I have done it (way too time consuming for me). Is there a reason I shouldn't use a good drywall adhesive to put new drywall over part of the existing drywall? Maybe I should use just a few screws along with the adhesive? I really want to minimize finishing if possible.

Ed
    Do you know about kickback? Ray has a good writeup here... https://www.sawdustzone.org/articles...mare-explained

For a kickback demonstration video http://www.metacafe.com/watch/910584...demonstration/
  • Stytooner
    Roll Tide RIP Lee
    • Dec 2002
    • Robertsdale, AL, USA.
    • BT3100

Screw holes are the easy part of drywall finishing. It is the corners and seams that take practice. I would use screws spaced about twice as far apart as normal. Maybe every 12" to 16". Enough to get the panels to lay flat.
    They have a fat fluted drywall screw specifically designed for drywall to drywall when using adhesive. You can use a cordless drill to install them and just set the clutch light. Heavy enough to bury the head below the surface, but not heavy enough to strip the threads. Getting the hang of those will take a few tries as well, but all will be easily covered up.
    Lee

Comment

• Ed62
      The Full Monte
      • Oct 2006
      • NW Indiana
      • BT3K