• Show
Clear All
  • cabinetman
    Gone but not Forgotten RIP
    • Jun 2006
    • So. Florida
    • Delta

Weed Whackers

I posted this thread about 5 years ago. I still haven't decided on what to do. The thing is that I'm still using a corded "Weed Eater" brand that I bought in 1995, and it just won't die. The corded part is a PITA, and it seems so easy to just pick up a trimmer and use it...no cord, no gas engine.

For sure I would get two batteries, and their ad offers lifetime string supply. Anybody here have the Worx GT brand?

• tommyt654
    Veteran Member
    • Nov 2008

I have no personal knowledge,but an older friend of mine recently bought one after talking to me about it. I did a little research and saw it met his needs, lightweight, easy to use ,balanced and rechargable, I just got off the phone after seeing your post and he seems very satisfied with his and use's it mainly for edging his driveway ( a fairly long one) and light trimming. Its does all he needs on a single charge and says it functions as needed so far,No Complaints other than large weeds take a little more effort due to line size. I think he's using the same size line that came with it still, perhaps when he use's that up he'll try a thicker line if possible, hope this helps

Comment

• JimD
      Veteran Member
      • Feb 2003
      • Lexington, SC.

I have about 300 feet on the street to edge and two driveways. I've never tried a cordless but I don't think it would work for me. I use a 2 cycle weedeater that has a single line I reload myself and a head that you can turn up at right angle for trimming. It works well. I've never done anything to the engine and it is at least 5 years old. I have several tools with little 2 cycle motors and don't have issues. I typically do not put in stabilizer or anything but they still run fine. I have 50:1 gas on-hand for my boat so gas is not an issue.

Jim

Comment

• cabinetman
        Gone but not Forgotten RIP
        • Jun 2006