X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Cochese
    Veteran Member
    • Jun 2010

Light switch upgrade

I'm not an electrician, but I know I can do this. Just need a little bit of help.

Have a switch that right now controls a set of lights and a fan in a bathroom. Somewhere along this circuit is also an outlet.

In the box, it's wired as follows:
    Three lines of three wires each, black white and ground. All ground wires are tied together and led to the ground on the switch. All the white wires are terminated together. Two black lines are tied together to the top pole of the switch, and the lone black wire is tied to the bottom pole.

What I would like to do is control the fan separately from the light, as I don't always need it on when lit. The new switch is a double switch in a single plank body. Two poles on each side plus the ground. Instructions are provided but I haven't quite figured it out yet. Any help is appreciated.
    I have a little blog about my shop
  • mpc
    • Feb 2005
    • Cypress, CA, USA.
    • BT3000 orig 13amp model

Okay, my guess is:

One of the two black wires tied to the same screw is the "hot" input wire from your circuit breaker/fuse box. The other black wire on that screw continues on to the always-hot outlet. (by the way, this may not be per code - using a single screw terminal to connect two wires) The 3rd black wire, on the other terminal of the switch, goes to the lights & fan. This is the switched "hot" wire for those two devices.

The whites are the "neutral" which is really the return wire for everything. So that's why they're tied together - since the outlet, fan, and light are fed from one circuit breaker/fuse, there should be one return neutral as well back to the fusebox. And of course the grounds are tied together.