• Show
Clear All
  • cabinetman
    Gone but not Forgotten RIP
    • Jun 2006
    • So. Florida
    • Delta

How Stable is Sta-Bil?

I've got to service some gas equipment...a pressure washer and a generator. It's been over a year since I've used them. I used Sta-Bil the last time (I think), as I have one large opened bottle about 1/2 full, and another one unopened.

The unopened one looks pretty dark, and I was wondering if it's still good. Can't find a date on the bottle, and I can't remember when I bought either bottle. The directions say it can be used for up to two years after opening. What are the thoughts on how effective they can be.
  • lago
    Established Member
    • Nov 2003
    • Lago Vista, TX.

I have been using it for several years, ever since I had to pump about 30 gals of gas out of my boat. Hadn't used it in 2 years and it wouldn't run right.

I haven't had any problem with it turning dark, even stuff that was a year or so old.

Might give the mfg. a call and see what they have to say.

Ken

Comment

• sweensdv
      Veteran Member
      • Dec 2002
      • WI
      • Baileigh TS-1040P-50

Just to be on the safe side I'd toss it and buy a smaller bottle next time.

Comment

• Uncle Cracker
        The Full Monte
        • May 2007
        • Sunshine State
        • BT3000

None of the Sta-Bil I've used has discolored after opening. I'd toss it, just to be on the safe side. Sounds like some kind of contamination is possible.

Comment

• RAV2
          Established Member
          • Aug 2007
          • Massachusetts

I've had Stabil go bad!

I use a lot of Satbil in my back up gas cans for my generator. I usually rotate the gas every year of two to my car if it has not been used.

If you read the Stabil bottle, you will see a double charge will double the life of the protection. I also use 93 octane gas for storage purposes.