X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • m_mcgover
    Forum Newbie
    • Aug 2009

How to best rip 2 3/4" strips

Newbie here. Probably a dumb question, but I'd rather ask a dumb question than lose a finger. I have a standard-issue BT3100 with board-buddy and feather board.

What is the best way to rip wood into 2 3/4" strips ?

Should the 2 3/4" strip exit the table saw between the blade and the rip fence?

I've seen some other tutorials where the strip to be kept is on the other side of the blade using a feather board. Although that way looks like a pain as the fence needs to keep being reset for each cut. I've also seen the board get lifted up halfway through the cut, reversed and finished.

If I am okay doing a standard rip cut for this width of strip...at what thickness do some of these thin cut techniques need to start being used?

THANKS!!
  • smorris
    • Apr 2003
    • Tampa, Florida, USA.

I'd cut those on the fence side of the blade using a push stick/block of some sort to keep my fingers clear and to help push the piece all the way through. I switch to the other method when the rips get too small to control readily, for me that is under ~1". Assumes a length that is safe to rip on a table saw.
    --
    Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice

Comment

• Stytooner
      Roll Tide RIP Lee
      • Dec 2002
      • Robertsdale, AL, USA.
      • BT3100

You should be able to rip that size even with the guard in place using a push stick as suggested.
      An outfeed table will help, but should be a necessity if pieces are longer.
      Lee

Comment

• pelligrini
        Veteran Member
        • Apr 2007
        • Fort Worth, TX
        • Craftsman 21829