• Show
Clear All
  • schloff
    Established Member
    • Jan 2007
    • Southern Middle TN
    • Powermatic 64 (BT3000 RIP)

looking for a project

I have a piece of white oak in my stash that I have been contemplating for a few years now. It's approx. 18 1/2 inches wide, 6-7 qtr, and about 6 ft long. It's old straight and true and solid. Needs to be planed still.

I was thinking of using it for a bench seat, but that doesn't sound like a project that would interest me. Then I thought about a blanket chest lid, but that's a lot of weight for a lid, which would be better off with a padded seat/lid anyway.

Just trying to come up with something to do with it. I have other pieces almost as large to supplement the project if needed.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
  • pelligrini
    Veteran Member
    • Apr 2007
    • Fort Worth, TX
    • Craftsman 21829

I think it would make a great top for the entertainment center that you ought to build for my wife so she would get off my back about the new flat panel TV sitting on her antique chest that houses all of her favourite fabrics which she doesn't really need to be messing with anyways until she gets a bunch of other things in order.
    Erik

Comment

• herb fellows
      Veteran Member
      • Apr 2007
      • New York City
      • bt3100

Assuming you don't want to cut it, you could still make it into a table top or a bench seat, but to make it more interesting to work on, do some inlay with it.
      You can inlay almost anything (turquoise is popular) and really give visual interest to the piece. All you need is a router, maybe a dremel tool, something to inlay,a little ca or epoxy, and a bit of patience. Ok, I might have lied about the patience, maybe a bit more than a little!
      You don't need a parachute to skydive, you only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Comment

• pelligrini
        Veteran Member
        • Apr 2007
        • Fort Worth, TX
        • Craftsman 21829

Originally posted by schloff