• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • davej77
    Forum Newbie
    • Oct 2007

Jointer for trimwork?

Newbie here.

I woud like to know whether any of you use a jointer in doing trimwork.

I also would like to know if I need a router table to edge long pieces of trim (10 ft. or longer) or if I can free-hand it with my router.

I want to get rid of the thin, small, cheap baseboards and door casings in my home and add crown moulding, and trim doorless entries where the builders just trimmed with drywall. I plan to use 1x pine or poplar and use lengths up to 16 ft. to avoid joints in the middle of a wall.

I have a good tablesaw, 12" dual-bevel CMS, router and 13" planer. I am considering adding an 8" jointer. The question is: Where to put it. Most good locations in my garage would limit me to feeding it lumber not much longer than 6 feet. That will work for furniture and lots of projects but I won't be able to run my long pieces of trim over it.

Is this a problem? I would greatly appreciate any help you could give me because my thinker is becoming bruised on this matter.
  • Garasaki
    • Sep 2006

You're kinda all over on this one

First, what is it you want to accomplish with a jointer??? It sounds like you want to make moulding, which dosent really make a lot of sense. Jointer makes a flat surface. That's all it does. It dosen't make profiles or anything.

Secondly, a general rule of thumb is that you can't joint pieces that are longer the 2x the length of the bed on your jointer. Your going to need a loooooooonnngggg jointer for 16' long pieces - so don't concentrate so much on width as length...it's your main concern.

3rd, ever try to joint something that long?? It's going to be a physical workout like you wouldn't believe.