• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tbibler
    Forum Newbie
    • Nov 2005
    • Glyndon, MD, USA.

Ripping Hard Maple

Has anyone ripped 4/4 or 8/4 hard maple on their BT3? If so, how did it go?

I have a recently sharpened Woodwoker II blade that styas in the saw unless I need to swap in a dado blade. I was wondering if I would get better results with a ripping blade. If so, will a new cheap (temporary) ripping blade from HD outperform the sharpened Woodwoker II combo blade with regards to ripping a ton of maple?

I am about to embark on building the hard maple top to my new workbench. Am I setting myself up for failure using my BT3?

My saw also runs on a dedicated circuit.

Can anyone tell me the HP rating of the BT3?
  • ssmith1627
    • Dec 2005
    • Corryton, TN, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3100

This is my first time using hard maple so I can't really comment on one blade or another. But I have been ripping it with my WWII blade.

It has certainly been a challenge -- the kerf does not want to stay open and I've had a LOT of binding when ripping even with the splitter in place. More than once I've had to stop the saw, remove the workpiece and start the cut all over creating a wider kerf. And at times that hasn't even been enough -- I've resorted to flipping the stock end for end and starting the cut from that end to try to get back to the other cut I was making.

This wood is air dried and has a moisture content of about 12%. I just can't say if this is normal or if this is the saw blade. I'm too new to all this to be able to answer those questions.

Steve

Comment

• Knottscott
      Veteran Member
      • Dec 2004
      • Rochester, NY.
      • 2008 Shop Fox W1677

Hard maple is tough stuff. The WWII should rip the 4/4 fine, but the 8/4 should really be ripped with a decent 24T thin kerf ripping blade, even if it'll go thru the 8/4. A TK ripper will help keep your WWII sharp and will spare your motor too.