X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mmeyerkopf
    Forum Newbie
    • Sep 2006

A sincere Thank You

I am Re-posting this as a new thread to make sure everyone who responded se this.

First off I would like to say how impressed I am at all the responses. I realized that after I sent the original message that I did not include what I intended to do first. Let me give you some background.

I was raised by a Tool & Die maker, my Dad, and worked with him from the time I was 10. I work in the computer field now which is not really as different as you might think.

I have been collecting tools for many years always using as an excuse (to my wife) that I was actually saving money by doing it myself.

Examples:

Recipricating Saw = Dismantle and trash the metal swing set ($350 estimate)
    Power Planer = Hanging 15 new doors in the house (saving $130 per door)
    Brad Nailer/Compressor = Help her Brother install quarter round in his house (no savings necessary)
    Power Painter = Stain Fense ($3500 estimate)

You get the idea. Back to the key issue

I have a simple design for a set of bookcases that have some special characteristics that several people have ask me to build for them. I built the prototype for my wife with my Circular Saw and little else.

I got the Table Saw for my birthday (it was a big one - or so they say) and have a gift certificate for the $400 at Home Depot. I have squares and chisels and the like. I probably could use a better quality Router (only 1 HP) but I think I would like to get something I don't have and then replace my old tools as I feel more confident that this new side business/hobby is going to work.

Again thanks so much for all the responses. I look forward to participating in these forums more constructively as my workshop and skills improve.