• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bobo
    Forum Newbie
    • Apr 2006

getting wood milled

Hey there-
    Not sure this is the right forum, but...
    I'm an arborist, so I occasionally come across some nice logs. I've started saving some, and right now I've got some beautiful red oak logs to get milled. They're over 30 inches in diameter, three logs about 16 feet, perfectly straight, even rings. I'm really very new at woodworking, I'm wanting to play around with different furniture projects, not even sure what yet, but with that much wood, I'll never get through it anyway. So I'm wondering what multi-purpose size should I get it milled in? 5/4 is what I'm hearing, though I might want a few beefy chunks for...well...something, I don't know. Any good suggestions would be welcome. Thanks.
  • leehljp
    Just me
    • Dec 2002
    • Tunica, MS
    • BT3000/3100

I would find a place that could quartersaw the oak. That is worth plenty in value and usage. Any miller that can QS should also tell you the best cuts it can make and give you some 2Xs and even some 3X3 or 4X4s for posts.

With 30 inches, you should be able to get several 12" quartersawn boards per log. Bear in mind that maximizing QS does waste more wood. But never the less, you can get several QS and still get plenty of other cuts too. A good miller will know what to do and it will be worth far more doing it this way than just having them flat sawn. Probably cost a little more to have it done this way too.
    Hank Lee

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you wanted!

Comment

• bigsteel15
      Veteran Member
      • Feb 2006
      • Edmonton, AB
      • Ryobi BT3100

Originally posted by bobo
      Hey there-
      Not sure this is the right forum, but...